Sunset times
Sunset
17:14
Rainfall: 30 %
15 ~ 18°C

KAOHSIUNG HARBOR  CULTURAL FLEET OF SHIPS
Site Map/中文/Hongmaogang/Pier-2/British Consulate/Contact Us/ Viewed140094

4KAOHSIUNG HARBOR CULTURAL FLEET OF SHIPS4Swinhoe’s Adventure
Popularity(2614)

Map Swinhoe’s Adventure Kaohsiung Golden Triangle at Shore Cruise along Hongmaogang Cruise along Pier-2 Pier-2 to Hongmaogang Pier-2 to British Consulate
Swinhoe’s Adventure

Travel through time and follow the steps of Swinhoe, Takao’s first consul, on a marvelous trip.
Enjoy a feast of culture and knowledge both on land and sea through the eyes of Swinhoe.

This trip allows passengers to experience the journey of Taiwan’s first British consul, Robert Swinhoe, to Taiwan in 1861. When he was just a vice consul, Swinhoe was designated to take HMS Cook, a warship of the Royal Navy, to Taiwan to establish a deputy consulate. Affected by the southwest monsoon, the ship was unable to anchor at the Taiwan Prefecture (today’s Anping in Tainan) and so turned to the Takao Harbor (today’s Port of Kaohsiung) instead. Passengers can listen to stories about Swinhoe and the Port of Kaohsiung, as well as appreciate the charming British-style redbrick arches of the buildings of the British Consulate, the pure-white Cihou Lighthouse, the verdant Shoushan (Monkey Mountain) and the incomparable sunset at Sizihwan Bay. The numerous scenic spots and the cultural experience on the sea call for your participation!

 Robert Swinhoe (1836 - 1877) was the first British vice consul and consul in Taiwan, and he contributed a great deal to British consular affairs in Taiwan. In addition to serving as a diplomat, Swinhoe was also famous for his identity as a biologist. During his off-duty hours in Taiwan, he often embarked on a journey to collect data on a variety of new species. The international acknowledgement of the Formosan Macaque as an endemic species is one of his contributions.

Swinhoe’s Adventure
Nearby Tourist Attractions
  1. The British Consulate at Takao

    The British Consulate at Takao
    The British Consulate at Takao
    The official residence of the British Consulate was built on the hill of the Shaochuantou in 1879. An arched cloister was added to the residence in 1900 to prevent exposure to sunshine and rain, thus making the temperature here mild in the winter and cool in the summer. The series of semicircular arches stand in a rhythmic array, presenting the architectural aesthetics of the Renaissance Period. The British Consulate at Takao is now an internationally well-known tourist attraction.
  2. The Syongjhen North Gate

    The Syongjhen North Gate
    The Syongjhen North Gate
    The “Syongjhen North Gate” is the inscription on the lintel of the gate to the Fort on Takao Mountain near Shaochuantou Harbor. Syongjhen Fort is located at the north shore adjacent to Shaochuantou Harbor and is slightly higher above sea level. According to An Information Book of Fengshan County, “The Syongjhen North Gate Fort is situated at a key position adjacent to the harbor. It covers a periphery of several kilometers and has eight barracks and two batteries of guns.” In May of the 13th year of the Qing Emperor Tongzhi’s rule (1874), taking the incident involving Okinawa victims drifting on the sea as an excuse, Japanese troops landed on what is now known as Hengchun. Shen Bao-zhen was dispatched by the Qing Court to Taiwan for coastal defense. After the peace talks between the Qing Court and Japan in October, the Japanese troops withdrew from Hengchun in December. In the first year of the Qing Emperor Guangxu’s rule (1875), Shen Bao-zhen assigned Tang Ding-kui to supervise the construction of Syongjhen North Gate Fort and Cihou Fort to safeguard Takao Harbor.
  3. Dapingding Fort: No Longer in Existence

    Dapingding Fort: No Longer in Existence
    Dapingding Fort: No Longer in Existence
    In the 14th year of Guangxu’s rule (1888), Liu Ming-chuan built another artillery fort, Dapingding Fort, on Takao Mountain. In the 20th year of Guangxu’s rule (1894), he added two batteries of 4.5-ton Armstrong Guns (with 6-inch caliber) in Syongjhen North Gate Fort. Syongjhen North Gate Fort is relatively smaller in its scale and is an irregular oval-shaped fort. At its entrance, there stands a Chinese-style redbrick gate with five battlements bearing peepholes on them. There is enough room for several people to stand on the gate. The Chinese characters of “Syongjhen North Gate Fort” inscribed on the lintel show such powerful strokes that they echo the inscription of “Might That Shatters the Southern Sky” on the lintel of Cihou Fort. Soldiers’ billets and storage rooms are built underground at the two slopes of the entrance.
  4. Cihou Lighthouse

    Cihou Lighthouse
    Cihou Lighthouse
    After the Treaty of Peking was signed in the 10th year of Qing Emperor Xianfeng’s rule (1860), Takao Harbor was officially opened in the 2nd year of Tongzhi’s rule (1863). Due to the frequent use by commercial vessels, the harbor was in an increasingly desperate need of navigation facilities. Therefore, in the 9th year of Guangxu’s rule (1883), deputy commander of the Qing navy Wang Fu-lu hired British engineers to build a lighthouse on the northern tip of Cihou Mountain. The Chinese-style square redbrick lighthouse was equipped with a British-made grade-six single-filament time light, making its light visible about 10 nautical miles away to ensure the safety of vessels sailing in and out of Takao Harbor. It is a pity that the light is no longer in existence and only its foundation remains at the north of the lighthouse. During the Japanese occupation period, the Japanese sought to expand the Port of Kaohsiung, and rebuilt the lighthouse in the 5th year of the Taisho Period (1916). In the 7th year of the Taisho period …
  5. Cihou Fort

    Cihou Fort
    Cihou Fort
    To safeguard the safety of Takao Harbor, three artillery forts were built at the end of the Qing Dynasty respectively at the Dapingding of the Takao Mountain, Shaochuantou and Cihou Mountain based on the geological elevations. The highest Dapingding Fort, which has been covered in soil and dust, the second highest Cihou Fort and the lowest Syongjhen North Gate Fort at the Shaochuantou complemented one another and together formed a line of defense. The Records of the Fengshan County written in the 59th year of the Qing Emperor Kangxi’s rule (1720) registers the earliest record of the construction of Cihou Fort; it describes that Cihou accommodates an artillery fort, a beacon and an observatory tower. After the Botan Tribe Incident in the 13th year of Tongzhi’s rule (1874), the Qing Court dispatched…
  6. The Supposed Anchorage of the Commercial Vessel Ternate

    The Supposed Anchorage of the Commercial Vessel Ternate
    The Supposed Anchorage of the Commercial Vessel Ternate
    The Ternate, a decommissioned vessel of the Baoshun Company, was berthed in Takao Harbor. Swinhoe, who had been on sick leave in England, was sent to return to Taiwan to reestablish the deputy consulate in Takao in 1864. The Ternate served as a temporary office for him. Six months later when he rented a two-story Chinese residence in Cihou, Swinhoe finally ended the difficult days of working on the vessel. In 1865, Swinhoe was promoted to the post of general consul to Taiwan, and the diplomatic residence in Takao therefore became the Consulate.
  7. Banana Pier

    Banana Pier
    Banana Pier
    At the end of the 1950s, the production and export of bananas in Taiwan exceeded the scale in the Japanese occupation period and contributed an export value third only to those of rice and sugar. The Port of Kaohsiung was at that time an important transportation hub for bananas. However, before 1956, the Port of Kaohsiung operated with facilities built during the Japanese occupation period and was unable to satisfy increasing storage demands. As a result, bananas from across Taiwan were stored in unsheltered places, exposed to the sun and rain, and easily perished. In 1956, the Kaohsiung Harbor Bureau planned the expansion of the Harbor and started the project in July, 1958, after receiving a U.S. loan for the “12-Year Expansion”…
  8. Sinbin Pier

    Sinbin Pier
    Sinbin Pier
    Sinbin Pier is the ferry pier coded number one in the Port of Kaohsiung. It is located near Penglai Road of Yancheng District and has a water depth of nine meters. It is an important pier for shipping lines between Kaohsiung and Penghu, and once served as an important anchorage for the U.S. 7th Fleet. The Kaohsiung Branch of the Taiwan Navigation Company and the Sinbin Base of the Navy of the Republic of China are located next to the pier.


高雄市政府文化局
Postal Code: 80252 | No. 67, Wufu 1st Rd., Lingya District, Kaohsiung City, Taiwan (R.O.C.) | +886-7-222-5136
2014 © Bureau of Cultural Affairs, Kaohsiung City Government. All rights Reserved. | In collaboration with Kaohsiung City Shipping Co., Ltd.

日落時間
日落時間
17:29
降雨: 0 %
23 ~ 29°C

高雄港文化遊艇船隊
網站地圖/ENG/文化局官網/紅毛港/駁二/英領館/聯絡我們/1112359

4高雄港文化遊艇船隊4史溫侯探險之旅
人氣(58039)

影像地圖 駁二 - 英領館航線 駁二-英領館(浪漫夕陽船班) 紅毛港大港巡航 史溫侯探險之旅航線 高雄水岸金三角 駁二 - 紅毛港航線
史溫侯探險之旅(經駁二延伸航線)

穿越時空跟著打狗第一領事史溫侯的腳步去旅行
透過史溫侯的西方之眼為您揭開一場海路雙拼的文化知識饗宴

史溫侯 體驗1861年台灣首任英國領事史溫侯來台之路,當年他還只是副領事官,奉派乘著英國皇家庫克號軍艦,到台灣設置副領事館。因為受到西南季風的影響,無法在台灣府(即台南安平)靠岸,轉而選擇在打狗港(即高雄港)上岸。……聽史溫侯與高雄港前世今生的故事,看打狗英國領事館英式紅磚圓拱建築的風情萬種,欣賞旗後燈塔的純白身影,蒼翠常青的壽山,以及西子灣海上夕陽無與倫比的美麗,多項迷人美景,最知性的打狗海上文化體驗,一定要您親臨見證!

 打狗英國領事館首任領事史溫侯(Robert Swinhoe,1836年~1877年)是英國在臺首任副領事及領事,對英國在臺領事的事務,有開創性的功勞。不過史溫侯最著名的不只是外交事業,還有他生物學家的身分,在臺灣的公務之餘,時常到各處採集各種新的物種,台灣獼猴被國際證實為台灣特有種就是他的貢獻之一。

史溫侯探險之旅(經駁二延伸航線)
遊船週邊景點
  1. 打狗英國領事館文化園區

    打狗英國領事館文化園區
    打狗英國領事館文化園區
    打狗英國領事館1864年設於港內三葉號(Ternate)船上,後改租旗後民房,至1876年於哨船頭籌建新館,由英國工部負責設計監造。領事官邸建於山丘上,而領事館辦公處建於山下,緊鄰臺灣關,以登山步道連結,1879年完工啟用。1895年清政府與日本簽訂馬關條約,臺灣割讓日本,英國駐臺灣領事官員改由東京大使管轄。自此打狗港日趨沒落,1910年打狗與安平領事館同時關閉,領事業務移往淡水。1925年12月....
  2. 雄鎮北門

    雄鎮北門
    雄鎮北門
    雄鎮北門為打狗山哨船頭港口砲台之門額題字,該砲台位處哨船頭近港北岸,略高於海平面。據《鳳山縣采訪冊》載,雄鎮北門砲台「在臨港扼要處,周里許,營房八間、大炮兩尊」。 清同治13年(1874)5月,日軍以琉球漂流難民事件為藉,登陸今恒春。清政府命沈葆禎來台辦理海防事務,10月清日議和,12月日軍撤出恒春。 清光緒元年(1875),沈葆禎派唐定奎督造,同時興工建造雄鎮北門砲台、旗後砲台以共扼打狗港,....
  3. 大坪頂砲台-- 現已不存在

    大坪頂砲台-- 現已不存在
    大坪頂砲台-- 現已不存在
    清光緒14年(1888)劉銘傳再於打狗山加建大坪頂砲台,清光緒20年(1894)又於雄鎮北門砲台增置兩門4.5公噸重的阿姆斯壯大砲(砲管口徑6吋)。 雄鎮北門砲台規模較小,屬不規則橢圓砲台,其入口處為紅磚砌成之中國式城門,其上有五個雉堞,雉堞上有窺孔,城門上可容數人站立,門楣「雄鎮北門」字體雄勁有力,與旗後砲台門楣「□□天南」之題字相呼應。至於兵舍則採地下化,在入口斜坡兩側地下設置兵房及貯藏庫。....
  4. 旗後燈塔

    旗後燈塔
    旗後燈塔
    咸豐10年(1860)《北京條約》簽訂後,打狗於同治2年(1863)正式開港,商船往來日繁,而導航設施需求日益迫切,至光緒9年(1883)水師副將王福祿聘英籍工程師於旗後山北端山頂上,興建中式方形紅磚建築的燈塔,內設英製六等單蕊定時光燈,見距約10浬,以維夜間船隻進出打狗港的安全,可惜現今已不復存在,徒留基座於今燈塔北邊。 日治時期日人為擴建高雄港,於大正5年(1916)著手重建燈塔,大正7年(....
  5. 旗後砲台

    旗後砲台
    旗後砲台
    清末為扼守打狗港整體安全,於打狗山的大坪頂、哨船頭及旗後山上,依地形高度設置有三座砲臺,其中最高處的「大坪頂砲台」,現已埋入土堆,次高為「旗後砲臺」,最低為哨船頭之「雄鎮北門」砲臺,三個砲臺互成犄角,結合成為一組防禦線。 旗後建砲臺之紀錄,最早見於康熙59年(1720)之《鳳山縣志》:「旗後汛:砲臺一大座、煙墩一個、望高樓一座」。 「旗後砲臺」為同治13年(1874)牡丹社事件後,清政府派船政....
  6. 推測商船三葉號停靠處

    推測商船三葉號停靠處
    推測商船三葉號停靠處
    三葉號(Ternate)是當時停靠打狗港內,屬於寶順洋行的除役船隻。原來在英國家中養病的史溫侯,1864年授命返回台灣,在打狗重新設置副領事館,辦公地點就暫選在港內的三葉號船上。半年後,在旗後岸邊租到一棟兩樓中式房子,才結束船上顛簸的辦公日子。1865年史溫侯升任駐台總領事,打狗的外交館舍也正式成為領事館。
  7. 香蕉碼頭

    香蕉碼頭
    香蕉碼頭
    1950年代末,台灣香蕉的生產與輸出已經大大超越日治時期的規模,外銷金額僅次於米穀和砂糖,而高雄港就是台灣香蕉最重要的運輸樞紐。然而在民國45年(1956)以前,高雄港大體僅維持日治時期築港以來的規模,以致難以充分因應時代的需求,來自台灣各地的香蕉均露天堆積,日曬雨淋,容易腐壞而影響外銷。民國45年(1956)間,高雄港務局研擬港埠擴建計畫,後於民國47年(1958)7月獲得美援貸款展開「12年擴....
  8. 新濱碼頭

    新濱碼頭
    新濱碼頭
    新濱碼頭為高雄港編號第一號的客輪碼頭,位於鹽埕區蓬萊路附近,水深9公尺,為高雄、澎湖等航線的重要碼頭,並曾為美國第七艦隊的重要停泊地。台灣航業高雄分公司與中華民國海軍新濱營區設於旁邊。


高雄市政府文化局
郵遞區號:80252 | 高雄市五福一路67號 | 最佳瀏覽環境IE9以上 | 最佳瀏覽解析度1024X768
版權所有©高雄市政府文化局 | 船務合作:高雄市輪船股份有限公司